NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

where do i go from here?

Just to give a little background to my question:

I recently purchaced a Canon 1000d and hava all the bits i need to attatch it to the scope plus a cable release.

Tonight i set up the scope and was racing against the cloud, the scope was not properly polar aligned but i pointed the scope to the rough area of the ring nebula and amazingly managed to get the following results. ISO 400 and exposures 10 seconds and 20 seconds.

Can i realisticly expect to acheive better results with the mount that i have or do i need to think about upgrading if i wish to persue imaging DSO`S?

I should point out that i am a complete novice to imaging DSO`S.

Thanks.

Mark.

post-20855-133877659281_thumb.jpg

post-20855-133877659288_thumb.jpg

First of all, well done finding M57.

As for where to go next, if you're able to leave the mount out for longer periods of time, (maybe get a cover from Green Witch - they're quite good), you might be able to reduce the trailing by improving your mount's alignment. Once you can tune out a little more of the trailing (you really want to be able to expose for a minute or two at least), then your next step would be to start firing off lots of identical exposures, incorporating calibration frames, and stacking things accordingly in something like DSS.

This is your first attempt, and is far better than many first attempts (particularly my own). I reckon you can get plenty more out of the equipment you're using. The only thing I'd suggest you consider purchasing would be a copy of Steve Richards' Making Every Photon Count, which I'm sure you've seen mentioned around here, and really is every bit as good as people say.

Look forward to seeing more results soon, Mark.

For a first go I think that is excellent. I agree with the advice that Mark has given. Get practiced at polar aligning and take many subs.