NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First image of the sky - Help

Yesturday i was out trying to take some images of the nightsky with my camera and heq5. Sadly my camera can only open its shutter for 1 min at a time so i have to take many pictures to get something good.

I took 5 pictures of a random spot above my house. It was hard to find a place where the sky wasnt light polluted.

Now that i have the 5 images im a bit unsure what to do with them. I know i have to stack the pictures but dont know how.

It was also my first time to polar align. Can anyone see if it was correctly aligned. I dont know how its supposed to look.

/Thanks

post-26256-133877625545_thumb.jpg

post-26256-133877625553_thumb.jpg

post-26256-13387762556_thumb.jpg

post-26256-133877625567_thumb.jpg

post-26256-133877625574_thumb.jpg

Hi luke, i am no imaging expert but i can make out the constelation Cassiopia and the stars look like points of light so you must be doing something right.

Also you mention that your post has received very little attention. I would immagine that might be because most of us are at work and will not have a chance to browse SGL until later but i am lucky enough to be able to do so at work also.

Hi Luke,

To stack images you'll need some stacking software - I recommend DeepSkyStacker, there are loads of threads here on SGL describing how to use it. It also has a decent guide on the website.

As for your images, as oldfruit says, you've got no obvious star trailing so you must have a decent enough polar alignment. You've got great star shapes and focus! However, the sky background is quite bright, it looks like it's still illuminated by the sun below the horizon. What time were the images taken at? Unfortunately it doesn't get properly dark at all this time of the year!