SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

what binoculars?

Raven- I'm not an expert but I do know that the more information you give in a question the easier it is for people to give advice.

I can try and give some general info.

1. Large magnification binoculars are difficult to use without a tripod ( the magnification figure is the 1st one i.e 10x50) the object you are looking at will appear like a pinball. 10 or 12 mag is plenty for handheld.

2. Try to avoid some of the cheap rubbish you see on ebay (often made in China) although some of the products being sold by Meade / Bresser are sufficient for the amateur .

What exactly do you want to observe ? I've just noticed this.. have a read there http://stargazerslounge.co.uk/index.php?topic=11104.0

Raven ,have a look on the German e bay at carl zeiss binns there is a bit more choice than the UK ebay, for this class of binoculars in 10x50 or 12x50 range ,avoid cheap Chines binns not( worth the eye room) better off with a good second hand pair of carl zeiss ,or other top brands Nikon fujinon, ...good binocular hunting :lol:

I've looked through a few pairs of bins and I don't get on with cheapies. I wear glasses and I must be very sensitive to the slightest defect. The only reasonably priced ones I've found ok, well very good actually, are the Bresser 8x56 and 9x63 linear ones. I find them very comfortable, don't give me eye strain

and a real pleasure to use. Scope and skies were advertising the 8x56 for fifty quid and the 9x63 can be had off an ebay seller for fifty eight.

hope that's of some use

DAve

Raven,

If the binocular is for astronomy, it is a two-horse race: A 7x50 or 10x50 porroprism. Porroprism (not roof-prism) are the 'classic' design popularised by Zeiss in the 1920's and look like this:

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=bmontana7x50pp