NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What sort of views to expect

Hi I'm still new to astronomy and was just wanting to know what to expect to see through the scope.I have been looking at all the photos people have taken of planets,galaxies ect and they look amazing but when I looked through a scope all I see are little white dots even saturn just looks little more that a spot with the fainst glimpse of a ring.was I just expecting too much to think I whould see images like all the photos on here or see saturn in colour with detail of the rings :eek:

You don't say what scope you have been using, but don't expect your view through a scope to match thaat seen in the astro images you see here and in the magazines.

Remember that that these images have often been taken giving hours of exposure time and then been subject to more hours of processing by very skillful imagers.

Most of the DSOs you view through a scope will been seen as grey smudges, the amount of detail present depending on the viewing conditions and the scope used.

Viewing the planets with a reasonable magnification, say 100x plus, you should begin to some detail, again depending on conditions.

Have a look at 12DString fov calculator (website) and CCDCalc (stand alone). Except for the colours you'll get a good idea of what to expect in the eyepiece:

http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm

The New CCD Astronomy Home Page

Both free. Also "Turn Left at Orion" and "Illustrated Guide to Astronomical Wonders" are both good books with finding instructions and view illustrations :eek: