Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

decent leisure battery

Hey folks

Need a battery for my neq6 dslr laptop and also for camping too to power small fridge recharge toothbrushes mobile phones etc (obviously not all at the same time!)

Seen this Lucas model on amazon - got good reviews - what do you guys reckon im no expert on batteries

Will probably also get a solar powered charger for it too so I can leave it charging in the shed during the day

Thanka

Leisure Battery 12v-110Ah Lucas LX31MF

110Ah should be enough for a lot of gadgets and an evening or two on the NEQ6, not sure what a portable fridge draws (possibly similar to the NEQ6) but you should buy a high quality car battery charger for it and forget about solar as it would probably take a few weeks to fully charge from a trickle charge solar panel, unless you have a large array of panels covering your shed roof of course, but that might cost thousands of pounds to do properly.  Lucas always used to be a well-known brand; I bought my leisure battery from Motosave, I think provided that you don't buy something that looks too good to be true (expect to spend about £50 or more) and you buy from a reputable shop then you probably can't go far wrong.

I have this Ring charger, works very well with all car battery types including large leisure batteries.  I'm sure other Smart Chargers would do job too, but I can't comment on their battery maintenance or reconditioning capabilities.  A good charger will help maintain your battery so it should last you many years, it's worth investing in quality. 

Be aware that leisure batteries emit a flammable gas while charging so they should not be left in a concealed space (only while charging though).