SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi i would like to image the night sky with this camera if possible, just images on the stars on a dark night. like costellations . not deep sky or planets.

I have a tripod as well. and this camera has come with a 18-55mm lense what sort of settings do i need to have it on

i dont even know if this camera will do the job

Kelly

It will do fine for constellation

Put it on the tripod, set your camera to ISO800 or 1600, manual exposure mode, shutter speed to 30sec, aperture to maximum, put the camera on 10 sec timer and then click the shutter. It should give you images of the constellation.

You can play with various aperture and shutter speed combination.

If you have some spare cash, I suggest you look for a 50mm f1.8 prime lens. It's a cheap and cheerful lens.

I am a beginner when it comes to widefield imaging but I do know that your Nikon d5100 is a capable camera.

To avoid star trails use the "500" rule. That is to divide 500 by the focal length set on your lens. This will give you a rough time in seconds you can expose for before star trails become too obvious.

When your camera is mounted use a remote shutter release or use the shutter delay settings. This will reduce/eliminate any camera shake imparted by you as you try to take the picture.

Try setting up on your target constellation and set the lens to approx 24mm.

You need to manually set focus (to infinity) on a bright object such as the moon and then not touch the focusing ring

Set your camera ISO to 800. I am not too familiar with your camera's specific settings but you need to expose for no more than 20 seconds. If you have a specific exposure setting for this, great. If not set it to bulb and take a 20 second exposure using a stopwatch to time it.

Review the image on the LCD and if its too dark increase the ISO level and try again. If its too bright either reduce the ISO level or reduce the exposure time.