Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Power and Data Hub Mk2, with automated Dew Control.

JAS

I have spent a fair amount of time making an Arduino controlled automatic dew heater.

I have never programmed anything before and my electronics knowledge is very limited, but I thought I would give it a go! I brought an Arduino Mega , a DHT22 temperature and humidity sensor , some Dallas one wire temperature sensors and an LCD display.

I started by looking around at various tutorials on the net. I then did a sketch for each component I would be using to understand how they work, and then put a sketch together for the heaters. This works by measuring the ambient temperature and humidity, the temperature that dew forms can be calculated from this. There is also a temperature sensor with each dew heater band to measure the local temperature. The heat output is set to keep the local temperature at each heater band a preset level above the calculated dew temperature to stop dew forming.

I later added control of the cooling fan for the primary mirror on my 200pds. This will automatically turn the fan on if the mirror is warmer than the ambient temperature and then turn off once the temperatures equalise. This only works for the first 3o minutes the system is on.

Here is the thread for the development of my controller, Phil’s and Gina’s.

http://stargazerslou...heater-control/

I put together a circuit diagram to fit onto a 94 x 71mm pad board from Bitsbox, I had to use this board to replace the old manually controlled heater circuit board that was in the hub.

KSCN0001_zpsed64de58.jpg

The circuit has a single 12v input, this feeds the Arduino, 9v via a regulator and all of the heaters and the cooling fan.

DSC_0092_zps0646923e.jpg

DSC_0093_zpsa6d2bc6f.jpg