Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Orion Optics VX10 and home made dob mount

Hi

I thought I'd share a few thoughts on my new OO VX10. I'm fairly new to astronomy so am commenting more on my impressions of its build quality. OO say they have very little trouble with damage in transit. I believe them. The scope was very well packaged and arrived in perfect conditon. As I unwrapped the layers of bubble wrap, my first thoughts were that it was well engineered. I can't comment on the mirror quality but the machining of the mirror cell is very nice. If it is any indication of the stability of the set-up, I had good (if rather low magnification) views of Saturn and stars semed pretty sharp on my first attempt with out any collimation...so I figure it has travelled well!

The focuser is pretty good and works smoothly. However, my Vixen 22 mm eyepiece (the only one I have at present) isn't held as firmly as I'd like. The tube is nicely finished. The seam is functional if not particularly elegant but I suspect adds some rigidity. The spider and secondary mirror, IMHO, are not quite up to the quality of the rest of the scope and I don't like the silicone blobs attaching the mirror (which has fairly roughly ground edges) although I gather that is how most mirrors are anchored in a newt...do they ever come adrift I wonder?

Overall I'm happy with my new scope and I'm sure it will become an old friend as we search the Heavens together. OO have been helpful although communications have been brief. Would I deal with them again. Yes, based on this experience - although it took longer to arrive than I was expecting. Was the scope worth the money? I think so although postage was a killer.