Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Meade 5 Piece MA Eyepiece Set?

Hi - I am a beginner and have recently bought an Orion TX8i with one eyepiece.

I am a newbie but also understand about false economy and I want to buy the best kit my budget will allow. Do you think this kit will let down my good scope?

Meade 5 Piece MA Eyepiece Set

Do you think I will be dissapointed with the above? Should I look to double my outlay and go for say a celestron kit?

Thanks for reading.

Confused

Do you think I will be dissapointed with the above? Should I look to double my outlay and go for say a celestron kit?

In a word....yes. You would definitely be disappointed. The Meade MA is not a good eyepiece by any stretch and £70 for 5 of them is not good value. There are better sets around and not just the Celestron offering.

Or perhaps a better idea would be to buy two highly rated eyepieces for £80 , that would work well very with your XT8i. It may not seem like such good value only getting two for £80 but there's no real reason to have more than 3-4 eyepieces anyway. Presuming you already have a 25mm Sirius Plossl (a good eyepiece btw) that came with the XT8i, that would give you a good coverage of focal lengths.

The eyepieces i would recommend are the BST Explorer ED (15mm or 18mm) and TMB Planetary clone (6mm or 7mm). Both are £38 plus £2.50 p+p. The 15mm BST will give you 80x and a 0.75deg true field, the 18mm 67x and 0.89deg. While the 7mm TMb would give 171x, the 6mm would be 200x for lunar/planetary viewing.

Here's a TMB Planetary 6mm (genuine not clone):

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/planetary-eyepiece-1-25-inches-6mm-/130506037658?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item1e62c4199a#ht_936wt_1125

And here's the Explorer 15mm:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1-25-15mm-60-Degree-Explorer-Dual-ED-Eyepiece-/380329904326?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item588d6dc8c6#ht_4141wt_972