NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What Next?

fatwoul

This probably belongs in the beginner section, but I'm feeling pleased with myself for the image, so forgive my arrogance asking here.

I've shoved 130 lights, and a handful of darks and flats through DSS, to get this:

M13Base.jpg

This is the unaltered image given to me, together with these settings:

RGBKLevels.jpg

Luminance.jpg

Saturation.jpg

I'm getting really confused how to get the best out of the image, though. I've made some progress with the RGBK settings, but I'm really struggling with the Luminance, which is embarrassing considering my occupation. :D

Well, I'm no expert, but my routine tends to be:

Saturation up to 20%, use the centre triangles on RGB to align the three histograms, use the lower midtone slider to move the line so it slices through the 'climb' on the resulting column.

This has been arrived at a bit through trial and error and a bit through including the occasional comment I have read on here. Once I have achieved that, I then save the result under a different name (usually use suffixes -1, -2, -3, etc) and start 'tweaking', saving each change that makes what may pass for an improvement. Then once I finish with DSS, I compare the results and select the best one to go into (in my case) GIMP.

You say you have used flats, but there still seems to be quite a bit of vignetting at the corners. Don't know enough about flats to offer an explanation/solution to that one.

HTH

Nice result so far by the way.

Thanks so much, Dp, I will give this a go today.