Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Image Processing help

I am still really new to Astrophotography but I was after some help to get me started.

I have taken some singe shot images of the moon (through 8" Newt with 1000D) which have come out quite well but I wanted to improve them as they are a little blurred (noise?)

I took my first tentative steps last night which was a complete nightmare. Spent 5 hours on making things look worse.

I am using GIMP2 at the moment but I am not adverse to changing if something else is easier/better.

Does anyone have a series of steps that they use that I am able to follow to start me off. Obviously I can build on these myself so it is really just something to point me in the right direction.

I tried the tutorials on the GIMP site but really struggled with them. I think they are a bit dataed now.

Any help would be very much appreciated and sorry for being so green. We all have to start somewhere I guess.:hello2:

It would help if you could post up one of your images as they ere before you had a go in Gimp. Gimp is fine by the way there is lots you can do with it. I am a DSO imager but I have done some Lunar work and I have always found that just putting a single images (from my DSLR) through the free software Registax and using the 'wavelets' function can make an enormous improvement to the sharpness and general detail provided you don't overdo it!

Thanks for posting that.

I'm no Lunar 'manipupator' and I'm sure someone with more knowledge of processing lunar images as opposed to DSOs will step in shortly but for what it's worth here's the result of using Registax 'wavelets' to sharpen up the detail followed by adjustment of the levels followed by duplicating the image, gently blurring the copy to remove some noise and then adjusting the opacity of the top layer to allow some of the new detail to show through:-

post-13675-133877550243_thumb.jpg