Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New to AstroPhotography...Filter tips/help please...

Hi everyone. I just purchased a CG-5 mount in order to start taking some better photos at night. However, i have no experience and no one in the Los Angeles area to really help me... Here is a single shot i took of M42. 30 seconds, ISO 400, on a typical horrible night of light pollution. I slightly processed it on Aperature on my Mac. Eventually im going to try to take longer exposures, like of 2 minutes... (im using a Canon EOS Rebel T1i)

-Will getting a UHC filter help with this glow issue???

-Also, Im using a C8 on a CG-5 mount and i just installed an f/6.3 reducer-corrector... Do i buy a 1.25" or 2" filter for this set-up? Where does the filter go installed???

I cant just walk in to a local dealership to ask these questions because the closest one to me is 25miles away and the traffic to get there is like a 2 hour drive :(

Any help would be greatly appreciated... thanks :)

post-24989-133877539016_thumb.jpg

Hi Alex and welcome to SGL.

An Astronomik 'Clip Filter' like this one would certainly help you and I have no doubt that they are available in in the States. This literally clips into the 'throat' of your Rebel camera - brilliant!

I would also recommend that you do a search on the Internet to find out all about 'FLATS' as they will make an enormous improvement in your images by getting rid of the vignetting' that is apparent in your image.

Wonderful!

Thanks for the warm welcome :)

-Is the flattener going to go attached to the reducer?

-Those two items should be enough to get started with some good images right?

-Lastly, I just purchased a Williams Optics ZenithStar 80mmAPO... Will all these items be necessary as well, eventhough it has great optics?

-Is the flattener going to go attached to the reducer?

At this stage, I am not talking about a 'flattener' at all, I am talking about taking additional calibration images called 'FLATS'.