NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

MY Setup - My first scope!

CKemu

This is it folks, my "little" baby! I'm a semi-pro photographer, and have for many years wanted a telescope to photograph the night sky and to enjoy the beauty above us that so many never really look at.

attachment.php?attachmentid=51891&stc=1&d=1298562346

I don't really have a back yard, however I have known my neighbour for about 2.5 years now, and even lived with the family for awhile. She lets me use her back yard (liturally through a gate from my place) to observe and photograph the night sky.

The obvious setup is the telescope, a Meade LX90 8" GPS/UHTC/ACF do-hikey with a coffee grinder go-to mount.

The bag on the bottom right is an old camera bag I used for my DSLR. Nowadays it contains three weights for balancing, 26,14,6mm plossi's a 2x Barlow, Crayford Focuser, caps, cables, and a few odd tools, including a spirit level and head lamp.

My 70-300mm lens is visable on the bench near the eyepieces. After that comes the power pack and the bag on the left contains all my camera lenses, a 35mm f2 prime, an 18-50mm f3.5, and my favourite lens, which I will be using for some imaging soon, a gorgeous fisheye lens, giving me a full 180 degree FOV.

attachment.php?attachmentid=51892&stc=1&d=1298562346

My wedge is missing a little spacer block which fills the cap between the edge of the wedge and the alt/az tweaker, the guys at "Telescope House" are trying to sort something out for me, which is most kind of them. I have also yet to experience polar alignment.

Polaris is "just" visable over my neighbours roof, so I can atleast use that as a reference. Tonight if it stays clear, I will be attempting my first photos of Saturn, but will be sticking to Alt/Az until my drift aligning eyepiece turns up, and lets be honest, you do not need polar alignment for photos of Saturn!