Nexstar 4SE: Buying Eyepieces, but do I need filters?

I am an absolute novice who has just bought a Celestron Nexstar 4SE.

I have been reading 100s of posts on various forums over the past few days and its clear that I need some more Eyepieces..

I have decided on the GSO/Revelation set and had decided on this:

Revelation Photo Visual Eyepiece Kit

It seems to have everything I need, plus it gives me the option to connect my SLR (assuming I buy the necessary adaptor).

But just as I was about to order, I found this for £31 less:

GSO 8 part Photo-Visual eyepiece and accessory kit by GSO

It seems to be exactly the same kit.. You can even see the "eve" of "Revelation" on the lid.. But it doesn't have the filters.

So my questions is easy.. Do I need filters? Which set represents the best value considering my model of telescope and level of experience.

Jon

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm certainly no expert and I'm sure someone more qualified than I will come along soon, but I have bought a polarising moon filter (you can adjust how much light it filters) for my scope and it is fantastic when viewing the moon - especially when it's full as it really is too bright to be comfortable in that state

You absolutely don't need filters.

- except a moon filter, which is included in the cut-down kit.

With this scope however (I have something similar) you ought to consider separate eyepieces rather than an eyepiece kit.

(LATER: I also ought to mention that I have that exact, filterless eyepiece kit and I don't use it at all with this scope)

Have to agree with above comment, a Moon filter is a must, you should try a local astro society if possible, then you may be able to try some various ep's before you spend anything, so getting a good 2 or 3 rather than a set of 4 or 5 for the same money may be worthwhile, just an idea. :)