NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher, Altair?

Hi all, Im in such a crossroads, im hoping you can help me please. Im upgrading my scope to either a Skywatcher 200pds or an Altair 8" Newtonian. The only thing that worries me is that I have never attempted colimation before. My main aim is to progress with astrophotography, whilst my son can still use it through an ep, and enjoy it. I have read and watched videos posted on colimation and thought about it deeply, if you dont move the scope, then surely you shouldn't have to keep doing the colimation. Can you please help me in attempting to make a decision on one or other of these scopes, the only problem I have found is there isn't enough info about the altair, where as the skywatcher is proven. Any advice would really help me.

Hi from a newbie! just want to say i am new to collimation and it really isnt hard to do! i have the explorer 150p and its pretty straight forward, i have also collimated my dads 8" helios for him. dont be put off and i am sure there are plenty of people on this great site that will help!!

Thanks matey, to be honest I think my main concern is the Altair because there are not many reviews about it. is it because people are not using it or is that it isnt rated??? I dont really want to waste just under £1000 trying to future proof for a couple of years.

Collmation is just soketing you have to do like changing the oil in your car. It neednt be done every time you use the scope but I usually do because after a while it becomes second nature.

The toughest thing to cllimate is the secondary mirror but this doesnt need doing unless the scope suffers a serious thump or you removed the secondary assembly. Most collimation is of the primary mirror only and really isnst that hard. Budget in a collimation tool and its pretty easy.