NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Top end Mount and / or (auto) guiding

SteveKinder

Hi,

I am relatively new to Astronomy and even newer to Astrophotography but 100% hooked and in the fortunate position where cost is not my prime concern. Don’t get me wrong you don’t get to the point where cost isn’t your prime concern without being very careful with money but I have reached an age where in the limited leisure time I have I would rather save time and frustration than a few quid.

My question is, if I can afford a top end mount then should I buy one before trying (auto) guiding on my CGEM? After many frustrating evenings I am at the stage where I can align my CGEM mount adequately for observing but I am still not getting above 45 – 60 seconds of exposure time unguided. Next time out I am going to try guiding and fully expect it to take weeks or months before I get some command of the process.

To ask the question again, should I learn the hard way or are there shortcuts by throwing some money at the problem?

I would much rather be looking at the cosmos than messing about with kit.

Help and advice hugely appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve.

You will need to autoguide any mount, no matter what the cost for long expsosures.. so just get a setup for your CGEM and you will be sorted, if your managing 60s unguided then your PA sounds OK so you shouldnt have problems getting much longer subs using a guided setup

Thanks for the input. I seem to be getting that message consistently but there is a Greek guy on here, Aggelos I think his name is, who has an ASA mount and is getting 300 plus seconds unguided and his images are awesome. I am trying to speak to him directly but not succeeded yet.

In the mean time I will try and get the best I can from my CGEM and guiding. I can just feel it is going to be hard work though...

IS SCAG anywhere near Brighton? I will google it.

Cheers,

Steve.