Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Top end Mount and / or (auto) guiding

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to Astronomy and even newer to Astrophotography but 100% hooked and in the fortunate position where cost is not my prime concern. Don’t get me wrong you don’t get to the point where cost isn’t your prime concern without being very careful with money but I have reached an age where in the limited leisure time I have I would rather save time and frustration than a few quid.

My question is: if I can afford a top end Mount then should I buy one before trying (auto) guiding on my CGEM? After many frustrating evenings I am at the stage where I can align my CGEM mount adequately for observing but I am still not getting above 45 – 60 seconds of exposure time unguided. Next time out I am going to try guiding and fully expect it to take weeks or months before I get some command of the process.

To ask the question again: should I learn the hard way or are there shortcuts by throwing some money at the problem?

I would much rather be looking at the cosmos than messing about with kit.

Help and advice hugely and advice hugely appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve.

Whilst I love spending other peoples money ;-) been a total newbie when it comes to imaging, am I not right in thinking that you'd still need to refine your alignment process for astrophotography, regarless of the mount you're using?

Cheers

Alun

Unless you are going to spend £15k on a fixed obsy mount, then you will need to autoguide for anything much over 30s or so reliably.

Your CGEM, being a beefed up EQ6, should autoguide very capably though and you should be able to get anything up to 10 minutes if your guiding system is good.

For me, guiding would be A LOT cheaper than trying to get a mount with a good enough PE that it could work without guiding.

Thanks to Steve for recommending the book. I have many books but not that one. I will check it out.