NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

The purpose of stacking

I am just getting started in astrophotography using a DSLR (Nikon D40) at prime focus for DSOs and I have some basic questions. I've read a lot on this forum (and elsewhere) about stacking (and about darks, flats, flat darks etc.) but I just want to check a few things about stacking vs longer exposure - just to make sure I am on the right track. I apologies that this is probably really basic stuff for many of you (but I'm just a tyro!)

So, as I understand it, signal to noise ratio improves with a longer exposure; stacking also improves signal to noise ratio. Someone better shout if I've got that wrong!

Question 1: As far as signal to noise goes (and without calibration / noise subtraction etc), is a 60 minute exposure broadly equivalent to stacked 6 x 10 minute subs?

Question 2: Before I started looking into this, I assumed that when you stacked subs, the brightness (luminosity?) of the resulting image would be broadly the same as a long exposure equal to the sum of the subs (i.e. that the brightness of each pixel would be summed). This doesn't appear to be the case, so could I just check that the result of stacking is an image with ~the same brightness as the individual subs which you can then image process to give the same brightness as a longer single exposure (and that you can do this because of the better signal to noise ratio).

Aside from the difficulty of alignment / tracking and the increased risk of undesirable things coming into the field of view during a long exposure, and I guess the advantage of shooting the same target over different imaging sessions and stacking the results, I am really struggling to understand the benefits of stack for DSO images...

Thanks in advance!

I am really struggling to understand the benefits of stack for DSO images...