Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Can there be much difference!

Hi folks

In 2003 I brought a etx125 but due to illness lack of guidance I never got it to work properly due to alignment issues if I had to guess. Due to the illness and packing in work I unfortunately had to sell the scope.

Anyway its 2011 and im back and ready to venture back into the hobby!

I enjoy looking at the planets the moon, comets and look forward to maybe looking beyond ............. I am also a semi pro photographer so further down the line would like to try some imagining but im in no rush as I would like to be able to get a scope working correctly 1st as last time put me off a little. I would prefer a goto style scope as im not the best studier in the world and would like to learn with some guidance from the scope.

I was thinking 5" and narrowed it down to these

Meade etx 70-125

Celestron 130 slt

Celestron nexstar 4se xlt

Skymax 127 synscan

Im unsure why the meade 125 is so more expensive than the others is it that much better? are there any pro's con's I should know? Is skymax/sky watcher the same company? I had not heard of them till I started my research this time around but they seem really popular on here are they that good?

I would like to buy one 2nd hand so I could change my mind on the scope without taking a big hit and if I get back into the hobby I could upgrade at a later date! I cant access the classified section on here which is a shame but if anyone is selling anything suitable please let me know.

Thanks for reading and any light u may be able to shed!

Regards uklush

hi, you will be able to access the for sale section when you have reached 50 or more posts on this site, it wont take so long! in mean time you can use uk astro buy and sell site, i would be inclined to suggest a skywatcher skymax 127

In addition to 50 posts you will also need 1 month's active membership.:)