NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Total newbie in need of guidance

Hi all, stubbled across this forum whilst searching for a decent community to help with my new found hobby for astronomy. There seems to be a good level of advise on here so joined up :eek:

My o/h purchased a Celestron Astromaster 114 for me for Christmas as I have a big passion for the universe above.

I'm really struggling to get to grips with the telescope and haven't had much success at all yet, which is starting to frustrate me.

I've not been able to try it out with the moon yet, as every possible day I've had has unfortunately had cloud cover, but I'm guessing using the moon as the first object might be the best introduction.

What I have managed to do is test the telescope in day light by pointing at objects not far away, such as buildings, to make sure I can pick up close detail, which seems fine.

However, when it comes to the night sky, I run in to problem after problem. For example, if I try to focus in on Jupitar, I find all I can see is the black end piece of the telescope which is the large black central circle with the fixing brackets of 4 sides (if that makes sense). It covers almost all of the planet so I only see the outer edge!

I also seem to find the eyepiece gets covered over by a blackness which I can only describe as if it was filling with water. I don't understand if this is my eye, or something else.

The detail of Jupitar is poor (as I only see the edges) but can just about make out bands of lines in it, but everything is pretty much white and blurry despite all the adjustments I know how to do. Trying any star just doesn't offer any detail at all. I'm confused.

I've tried both a 20mm and 10mm eyepiece, with a I presume the 10mm offering a larger zoom.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Ia-d,