Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Meade 90az-ADR? Noob!

Hi everyone first time posting here. Hope to become acquainted with you all soon.

I just got my first telescope my lovely wife gave me for Christmas. I love staring at the sky and have always wanted to get a telescope. Finally did.

I'm a newb and set up my Meade 90az. I don't know much about scopes but I pointed my viewfinder at Jupiter last night (with the help of starwalk iPhone app) and managed to get a good view of it and a few of its moons.

My problem is that it had no detail, no gas clouds just a white disc mostly.

I switched from the 25mm eyepiece to the 5mm.

Not sure if I'm doing something wrong or the scope is very limited.

Thank you all!!! :)

You should be able to see the main equatorial belt across Jupiter's disk and maybe another couple of faint belts in moments of good seeing.

To see more detail with a 90mm scope you need really good seeing conditions and quite a lot of time spent at the eyepiece. Shadow transits of the 4 brightest moons should also be visible under good conditions, when you have had more practice.

The 5mm eyepiece is probably a little too powerful unless the conditions were superb and the 25mm does not give enough power. You might want to think about getting something like a 9mm eyepiece to give you more flexability.

In case you are doing this (apologies if you are not !) don't try viewing though windows - they not good for astronomy !.

Welcome to SGL !.

I sat outside on my balcony last night so no windows :). Oh and the eyepiece was actually 9mm not 5mm sorry.

So you don't think I'm doing anything wrong? Skies were clear as can be, should I move the focus knobs? (that move the eyepiece in and out lol sorry I really am new)

Only one reference to a Meade 90AZ but lots to Celestron 90AZ, guessing they are the same.

OPTICAL DESIGN: Refractor

APERTURE: 90 mm (3.54 in)

FOCAL LENGTH: 1000 mm

FOCAL RATIO: 11.11

Guess Meade supply different eyepieces.