Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First telescope Orion 203mm

Hello everyone,

For graduation, my parents surprised me with something I have been wanting for a long while now. I received a Orion SkyView Pro 8 EQ GoTo.

This is my very first telescope so I'm pretty new to this equipment. The setup was very easy and didn't take much time at all. On a cloudy night, I was able to easily line up Jupiter and get a faint amount of detail. I haven't had much time to utilize any of the GoTo features, and haven't even had a clear enough night to get the scope polar aligned for some decent viewing.

I have a few initial questions that I was hoping someone could help me with.

1. Will my GoTo system track objects in the sky? Or will it just put them into the field of view and then let them drift off? The reason I ask is because the box the controller plugs into also has a plugin for an AutoGuider. What's the purpose of an AutoGuider if you have GoTo?

2. When I'm manually slewing the telescope with the electronic drives, should I unlock the ascension and declination locks? I've read the entire manual and I can't find the answer to this.

3. I'm a little intimidated by the selection of eye pieces. It came with a 10mm and 25mm. I'll be doing some planetary viewing as well as some deep space. Would a kit such as this be good for me?

4. Any other equipment recommended for this telescope? I don't even have a star map yet :) I have just been using software.

5. How come I didn't start this hobby a long time ago?

Hi Quantum64,

Welcome to the forum. I am not familiar with your scope, sure someone on here will be though.

I can tell you the scope will track objects and keep them in the fov. I believe an autoguider is needed for astro imaging only, the scope will be fine as it is.

Not sure about the asc/dec locks. I can release the clutches on my 925 and use it without any power so would presume they should be unlocked.