Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

DSLR and magnifications?

scubaian

My t-mount arrived today. The only way i can get the camera to attach to the scope is to remove the diagonal plus lenses and attach it directly to the main body of the scope.

This means i cant use any lenses to magnify any images as they cant attach anywhere?

Is this always the case as it doesn't make sense to me that you can take photos but not magnify the image first?

I have a pentax K10d and a startravel skywatcher 80mm refractor and have attached a photo for comments.

I'm a complete novice so any basic tips would be most welcome as i don't understand all the terms yet!

post-21874-133877498364_thumb.jpg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't want to use the lens, i want to be able to photograph what i see through my telescope using the magnification lenses.

I thought this was the way to do it until i put everything together.

Anyone know what i need to do?

Someone will be along to answer your question soon, sorry could not help, the way you have it set up in your photo is the way that i do it, i then crop the photo in photoshop, and i take more than just one photo of the target and stack then in a program called depp sky stacker, i'm no expert but there are a few on here who will help you even more.

One thing i would suggest to you, if you are going down the slippery slop of astrophotography, you will need a mount that can track for longer exposures, unless you have one already

Good luck

Take a look at the Baader Hyperion range of ep's. I have the 8-24 Zoom, the 17mm and 8mm ep's, plus both FTR's and the adaptors to attach to a T-ring. All of these can fit in the scope for "eye piece projection" imaging with DSLR.

Alternatively you can get a "Universal Adaptor" which fits on any ep and holds the camera in place at the ep.

They can all be barlowed and filtered too :)