NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

hello all

im at a loss here folks feel dizzy already , im a complete novice at star gazing , however i want the very best from a tight budget of £300 , do i go for a go to refractor all singing computer ? or do i go for a skyline 250 which offers a much bigger bang on stargazing for the money ......any help from you all would be very helpful indeed many many thanks for your ideas and views .:) and can you use a webb cam with a skyline excuse my ignorance lol

Welcome to SGL! You've made your first step into finding an excellent astro resource by joining SGL.

With a budget of £300 I would recommend going the dobsonian route if visual astronomy is your thing, this instrument will give you the biggest aperture for your money and is an excellent tool for learning the night sky with.

This coupled with a Telrad finder and either Stellarium or Carte du Ciel on your computer and you'll be finding targets in no time.

With a big dob you can also use a nice widefield lowpower EP and go spacewalking....

You could probably get away with an afocal setup for pictures of a bright moon as your exposure times will be short, I've never tried webcam imaging with one but would think anything more than 30 seconds and you'll start having troubles but I'm sure someone in the know will help you out with that.

many thanks simon thats really really helpful as im new to all this it can be really really confusing in making the correct decision and its really helpful to hear from peeps loads more experienced :)

Hi metz, generally speaking refractors are factory collimated and don't require

adjustment by the user, reflectors do need collimating by the owner, but I wouldn't

let that put you off.

With a budget of £300 the best bet is a Dobsonian ( a Dob is a Newtonian reflector

on a simple altazimuth mount ) You could do short exposure pics of the moon, but

not much else imaging wise, a Dob is a visual use telescope mainly.