Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Startravel 120 (EQ3-2) vs Skywatcher Explorer 200P EQ5

EllenRipley

Hi all,

I'm rather new to astronomy but have enjoyed many evenings with a cheap 3" reflector and a pair of binoculars. I've done a lot of research on scopes and narrowed down my choices to the above two scopes but cannot decide which to choose. I realise the 120 is a short tube and better for DSO but I would like a nice all-rounder to view planets etc. and the best viewing experience in this price range (£300 - £400). Would also like to do some astrophotography, I have a Canon EOS 50D that I would like to use for this. Can anyone give me some advice in order to make my choice a bit easier?

Many thanks in advance.

Hi, welcome to SGL.

The 120 short tube isn't better than the 200P for DSOs, you can't beat aperture. The Newt is a much better all round scope than the Startravel and will give better views on pretty much every object. The only areas that I can see to favour the Startravel is ease of use and portability.

Thank you GazOC,

Ithought this might be the case but just wanted to make sure. I would like to take the scope with me to Scotland about once a year but I'm sure this won't be a problem with the 200p. One other thing, is it wort paying more for the 200P DS?

Ellen

If you want to connect your Canon to the scope and can afford the extra £££ then the DS is a worthwhile upgrade. The improved focuser and shorter distance from the focuser to the secondary mirror are both things that will come in handy when using a DSLR.

The 200P would win for both aparture and image quality. Also the EQ5 mount is far more substantial than the EQ3-2 and would be better for photography. I have no problem putting my Canon 1000D on the "ordinary" 200P but the better ("finer") focusser may well be worth the extra.