Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What was this?

Manok101

I was randomly looking for anything interesting to look at, and decided to see if I could find Orion. I think I did, and I was just wondering, what do Nebulae look like without filters? I saw three stars, fairly close to each other, at first I thought I saw the horsehead nebula, but then again, it could have just been a leaf, this was about tree line level. It looked like, I said with 3 stars, but around those 3 stars there was this whitish hase, and something I could have sworn looked either like a horse head (Really dark) or a leaf. Also like I said before I do not have any filters. I am new to looking at things through a telescope, and can't really give any more information. because I have only had 2 days of real practice at trying to find things. If I do not make any sense please let me know.

You could probably see it if your scope was massive. We have no idea how big your scope is, but the leaf theory is probably more likely. As yesyes said, the Horsehead is something that usually only shows up in long exposure images. The white ish haze you describe does sound like you were looking at the nebula. The bright colours you see in photographs will not be visible to the eye.

What time and what direction were you looking.

If the white haze was around the 3 stars then it wasn't Orion. The 3 belt stars are distinct and the nebulea are below the belt stars.

The nebulea are not really "a haze" in Orion, they appear as a fairly distinct block/area.

Sounds like you were looking at the Trapezium in the Orion Nebula (M42).

I don't think you can see the Horse Head visually. (someone correct me if that's wrong)

Through a 12" the horse head is a smudge to me. It only really shows up when I point my CCD at it.