Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Telescope - Help & Advice needed..

Hello,

An astronomy novice here, looking to buy his first scope.

I've done a little reasearch through various magazines and online sources as to telescope basics. I'm looking primarily @ planetary observatory, with preferrably some flexibility to observe the deeper sky once my confidence and knowledge improves. I'd prefer to spend a couple of hundred £ extra now, rather than buy an elementary scope that i'll want to upgrade in 12 months.

I've been recommended the Celestron NexStar 5 SE. The computerised database appeals due to not being particularly au fait with objects in the sky. The main concern is regarding the optics. Will the scope deliver brightness and clarity? Will it also be suitable for observing the deeper sky?

Are there any reference images available that would give me an indication of what results i can expect of viewing the planets, jupiter, saturn etc..?

Any recommendations, help and advice would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks. :icon_salut:

If planets are your main objective, the next issue is how portable your setup should be. If portability is an issue, the compact Maksutov-Cassegrain and SCT designs (like the NexStar 5 SE) are good choices. If not, you could look at a slower Newtonian like the Skywatcher Explorer 150 PL. This is considerably cheaper (even with Goto and equatorial mount), and a good all-round scope. The EQ mount makes it far more suitable for imaging planets, should you want to do that. Bigger 8" Newtonian Scopes would also be excellent, and, even more than the 6", run rings around the NexStar 5.

Hi,

First decide if you just want to be a visual observer or if at some stage you want to do some astro photography. If you do an Equatorial mount (heavy) will be needed.

Decide if you have a good site in your back garden or if you will need to travel to a dark field site some distance away. (portability is an issue).