NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Where from here?

Hi all,

After my first evenings successful viewing I thought I'd ask "where do I go from here"? This question relates to kit/accessories.

Currently I have a Bresser Messier 130mm Reflector on a GEQ mount.

Some of these questions may seem premature after only one nights viewing, but I'm about to start a course in Astronomy with the Open University. If the first part goes well then I'll be looking at completing the degree; I'd like to cost up / plan for any possible wants/needs.

the Bresserwas given to me and to be honest I know nothing about scopes. I wasn't sure whether or not it was any good and so was looking at a Meade DS2080.

As I understand it the Bresser is better due to its aperture of 5" vs the Meade which is 3"? However, I've got some experience so guess it depends on what it is you want to look at; I assume it's all about capturing a greater amount of light?

If so would the Meade still be a good option for viewing the moon, planets and other bright objects? I'm still drawn to this scope due to its tracking and size.

If the above is correct then the Bresser should be more capable at viewing more distant 'dull' objects?

I'd like to get some form of tracking/motorised 'GOTO' system for the Bresser. Any recommendations?

I also found the viewing very bright and fairly harsh on my eyes. I assume I should possibly look at some form of filters?

I currently have bog standard 10, 15 and 25mm eye pieces with a 2X whatsit. Should I look at expanding this or are these adequate?

What general items should I look at getting. I mean this in terms of is there a basic tool kit of items one should look at putting together?

Last but not least comes photography but I'll ask those questions in the Photography bit.

Thanks

Martin

My advice would be take your time with the telescope that you have and use as often as you can to learn the sky and get a good feel of how to use your telescope.