Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

The new WO Megrez 90

adam88

Firstly let me say i'm no expert in appraising a telescopes quailties, however i feel i've been observing enough to seem like i know hat i'm talking about :mad:,and this is my first review too:headbang:. I'm purely a visual observer who has too much money to spend on telescopes (much to the annoyance of my girlfriend!).

When i bought this scope in April from FLO i had my heart set on a flt98cf, however there was going to be a wait of about 3 months for wo to manufacture some more, so, after a discussion with Steve at FLO i decided to get the Megrez 90.

The new style differs from the previous model by now being a faster f6.2 and no longer having the 'foot'. It now comes with the beautiful CNC tube rings which once added to the scope with the WO dovetail make the scope quite weighty (~4.5 kg). The crayford focuser has also been replaced by a linear power which has a piece of what looks like steel on the underside of it to give extra stability. Although not as smooth as a crayford it is very stable feeling and i've had no problem with slipping hanging a 2" diagonal and a T4 17mm nagler off the back of it pointing at the zenith!

As you can see from the pictures it is quite a large scope relative the the ZS66 however it is still just about a grab and go!

To my eyes the FPL-53 doublet does a very good job a reducing CA. When observing bright stars and in good seeing as soon as you reach focus any purple just disappears up to about 150X on vega. There is of course colour in and out of focus however what matters is that in focus there is basically none:hello2:. I haven't noticed any objectionable coma and all of my eyepieces (mostly televue) stars appear sharp right to the edge.

Luna is framed against a inky black sky with only a hint of yellow visable along the edge, however this seems to be seeing dependant and the same can be said of jupiter.