NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Some question's if i may

Hello, well this is my first post so im new on the forums (go easy on me), my name is Marc and im 29, i always had an interest in astronomy but never really took it all that serious, i used to own a semi decent refractor scope (dont know model etc) but it was fun looking at the rings of saturn, moons on jupiter and of course the moon. I am a photographer by trade and i have always loved to take photos its just my number 1 passion. i recently bought myself a Nikon D700 which i am totally in love with.. My friend just the other day gave me a loan of his (i think) Skywatcher Skyhawk 1145P..

After viewing the scope i managed to get jupiter on a clear night tonight, it was i must admit pretty damn small, i could see 3 of it's moons and 1 red strip across the middle of it.. overall it was amazing to see but also very very small i mean it didnt have the WoW factor i was expecting, im presuming from my childhood days the refractor would of given me a much better view. Now to my questions.

Just how close can i expect to see from jupiter if i invest in a good standard refractor scope also can you recommend one, price range hmm say up to 600 quid, also do you recommend a goto mount if i wish to get into taking photos?