Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Quick QHY9 Mono review.

I have recently purchased and had my first lights on a new QHY9 mono + QHY 2 inch filter wheel set as well as even managing some half decent images with it already. Now I am by no means an expert on astrophotography or astro CCD cameras, this is my first, but I thought I would share my intial experiences of this CCD combo with you incase anyone else is considering one as I was.

I initially picked up a telescope for the first time in May 2009 and immediately wanted to get into astrophotography, so my Sony DSLR attached to my scope. This rapidly was replaced with an EOS 350D and EOS 1000D, both modded. So I had a years worth of imaging experience under my belt before I took the plunge into CCD. I was confused about all of the CCD choices out there such as mono and single shot colour, along with all the differing brands, that it was hurting my poor head. But i had made the decision to go for CCD and now which one to choose was tough.

My criteria was simple, it needed to be a big chip and under £2000 all in. Well eventually after chatting with some people on SGL and a lot of reading, I opted for the QHY9 mono and filter wheel with 2inch LRGB filters. The order was placed with Bern at Modern Astronomy along with a AC adapter and splitter cable (to power the ccd and filter wheel on same ac adapter) and the bill came to just shy of £1800 delivered. At this point I must publically thank Bern who had several conversations with me regarding my choices and was extremely patient and professional with me regarding my purchase. Bern had the order turned around amazingly quickly from the suppliers in a matter of 4 weeks. A simply brilliant service and a model for all businesses out there to follow.