NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Another EP Question!

I know i know! yet another EP question, but need your help.

My scope has a long focal length F15 and my big one im thinking of buying will be F10 with this in mind would it be worth me splashing out the cash on Tele Vue Naglers or would the Hyperions give comparable views?

The 3 makes im looking at are:

Tele Vue Nagler and panoptics

Hyperions

and

TMB Planetary clones

Comments welcome :)

I am no expert but my philosophy is that I'd sooner buy things once. On this basis I concluded that no matter what scope I have I can always use TV eyepieces so they are all keepers. You can get used and almost new condition TV eyepieces for not 'that' much more than eg new Hyperions. I got my Radians for just over £100 used and my Powermate for about the same. OK the Panoptics were a bit more expensive but again not massively and as I'll be keeping them 'forever' (note to self - reminder - never look through an Ethos even when the opportunity arises) the cost eventually fades as Henry Rolls says below. I think used Naglers are another notch up in price from the Radians but then if you buy maybe three plus a Powermate you can cover almost everything magnification-wise.

I am sure others will disagree but this is how I decided.