Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How would I go about getting into imaging

Hi chaps, if in the future I decided I wanted to have a go at imaging which i think I do, where would I start, I am clueless as I have never done this before and some of you have lovely pictures I can only dream of producing. I have a skywatcher explorer 130p so where would I start, obviously for me I would want to start imaging at a lowish cost if possible but just interested to see what type of cameras you guys would recommend and then where I would go from there, such as what software would I need and How do some of you get beautiful colours from nebula and galaxies, I assume its done with some editing?

i had a 130p az goto for my first scope and i used a webcam, a philips 900 nc, you can pick them up second hand for anywhere £50 upwards with adapters and a uv/ir filter.

the main advantage with this is that they are low cost, easy to use (ish), get good results on planets and Moon and are very light for your focuser.

the problem using you scope is that the focal length of it is short, 650mm if i remember correctly, and a F5, and for planets you need to increase this to get better image scale and detail

if you try anything much heavier the focuser will sag alittle.

I'm in the same situation having bought a Skywatcher 1145PM last year.

I've tried holding a digital compact camera against the lens with limited success for the moon and saturn.

I thought about a camera holder for £20-40, as this would give a range of exposure times, plus a lot of cameras have a movies option or burst fire mode.

The webcams are hard to find, and the Toucams are going for £70+ on Ebay.

I see Sherwoods are doing the Neximage for £115 delivered, with a free reducer lens worth £20 - seeing as these sell well on Ebay then you wouldn't lose much money if you bought one and didn't like it.