NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

1st time out results & advice pls

johnrt

I'm very new to both astronomy in general, never mind astrophotography! I thought I'd share the results of my first serious imaging attempts. Previous nights out had been very much a test runs, trial and error.

The first image is M45. 60 x 30 sec exposures shot in Nebulosity in RAW, stacked and then processed in Aperture. Camera Canon 450d on 6" reflector.

4350177988_1eb400ecd0_b.jpg

Second image is NGC 2244. Again 60 x 30 sec exposures stacked in Nebulosity, processed via Aperture. Again using Canon 450d

I think I have the detail of the nebula staring to form on this image. I guess I need to go back and add some more data to bring it out more.

Using Nebulosity plugged in to my camera via USB I get an error message if I try to select an exposure time of over 30 seconds, I need an adapter of some description? My mount EQ5 with synscan tracks for 30 secs no problem and I'd like to see how for I can push it.

Secondly when you shoot in RAW format Nebulosity saves them as B&W, is there anyway to keep the colour and shoot in RAW using Nebulosity. I have a cable release but like the ability to set up many shots using Nebulosity so I can nip inside for a cuppa whilst it images away.

When going back to add more data to existing shots do you start from scratch and begin a new stack of images including new & old data or can you use your already stacked file and add more new data to that. Nebulosity saves stacked files as .fit files.

4350114346_b3240d3ee3_b.jpg

John, they're very good starts. I don't use my 450d tethered, but rather use a timer remote I bought from ebay, they aren't expensive, and allow you to setup a sequence of shots, with a pause in between etc... you can use mirror lockup, combined with the self timer and the remote.