Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Attaching a camera to my scope

jdg600

Hi,

I'm new here so I hope I'm posting this ion the right place. I'm fairly new to astronomy having been observing for the last year or so with a telescope (Skywatcher ST-80) that my girlfriend bought me as a Christmas present. Anyway, I've now bought myself a Skyliner-150 dobsonian and am keen to try taking some lunar images with it. To this end I am thinking of buying a something like a Praktica MLT SLR as these seem cheap on Ebay but I don't know how to attach the camera to my telescope. The telescope manual says that a SLR can be attached directly to the scope but I assume that some kind of adapter ring is needed.

Any advice would be much appreciated,

John

Hi John,

Welcome to SGL!

What you need is a way to convert from the Praktica fitting to a standard T-Mount fitting. The T-Mount fitting is a 42mm thread (not to be confused with M42 threads, because the spacing is different) which is what most astro-kit uses. You can buy these for most cameras quite easily - Jessops sold mine in the shop (but I have a Canon!)

You can then use another adaptor to go into the telescope. An example of what I mean is here

This part of the site also lists Praktica fitting to T-Mount fitting here

The way this works is that you remove any lenses from the SLR camera, put the T-Mount adaptor onto the SLR, and then screw the T-Mount nosecone into the front. You can then put the camera into the telescope focuser in place of the eyepiece. This is called 'prime-focus' imaging by the way. Have a look here for a more detailed explanation:

I really would recommend going down the Digital SLR route though - its alot easier than old-style film, as you can see whats going on immediately.

Cheers,

Richie

Hi Richie,