Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Canon EOS 500D for astrophotography?

The title says it all to be honest. I'm thinking of buying Canon EOS 500D for AP :) But i cannot find any article or review on how the camera performs for this kind of usage. Can anyone assist me? As i am a rookie when it comes to astrophotography.

I have taken a lot of a-focal pictures though, but i have no experience with AP on a GoTo mount with the camera attached to my telescope! Well, back to the subject. If you have used the 500D for ap, I't would be great if you could "enlighten" me as i intend to buy this camera.

Sincerely,

Vebjorn :)

I use a Canon EOS1000D. The 500D is similar, but has more pixels so is capable of higher resolution and can capture movies. The 1000D only ranges between 100 & 1600 ISO, so if the 500D supports ISO 3200 that might be useful - however, noise does increase with higher ISO numbers, so I am trying to stick to ISO 800 or lower if I can. The 1000D Seems fine for DSOs. S@N reviewed these a while back, and rated the 1000D as being preferable to the 450D (also higher resolution) - but you'd have to read the article as to the reviewer's reasoning, and decide whether the same logic applies to the 500D; essentially they suggested it wasn't worth the extra for the 450D. I have used the 1000 with a movie hack that captures the video stream to PC, and that can produce video for processing in Registax, and my initial results were OK. I've not seen/heard yet what the product of the 500 is like in native video mode.

M.

I haven't got a DSLR yet but I read about the subject to narrow down the choices.

At the moment the EOS 500D would be my favourite, then 450D and 1000D. The 500D has the advantage of much less noise and the ability to record video, which can then be stacked in Registax for example.

For the noise comparison, see this thread:

http://stargazerslounge.com/imaging-discussion/92512-noise-comparison-canon-dslrs.html