Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Cleark skies over south wales!

Shame I haven't got a telescope yet :D

I am, as previously posted a total beginner and was initially intending to start off with binoculars. But I have decided to just jump straight into the middle of the pool (not quite the deep end) and buy a scope.

I am looking to get a relatively small easily portable set up due to mobility problems I have, for around the £200 mark (preferably on the lower side of £200 :) ); and was wondering if anyone could recommend any?

I've been looking at refractor and maksutov type scopes, but not sure which is best, if either, or which would give me a relatively good performance for night sky viewing for a modest price.

I also will need an observation chair of some sort which I would appreciate advice on also.

:D

I also have mobility problems. My Celestron 90EQ is about managable but can be a pain in the behind. I have just the other day ordered a Skywatcher Heritage 130P flextube Dob. Thats a 5" reflector that weighs about 6.5 kilo and is so compact that it almost fits in your pocket. It looks ideal for those of us that have to observe from a seated position. It costs £130. The reviews i have read online are really rather good. Users say it is an impressive scope.

It may be worth you taking a look at it.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=Heritage_130P

I also have mobility problems. My Celestron 90EQ is about managable but can be a pain in the behind. I have just the other day ordered a Skywatcher Heritage 130P flextube Dob. Thats a 5" reflector that weighs about 6.5 kilo and is so compact that it almost fits in your pocket. It looks ideal for those of us that have to observe from a seated position. It costs £130. The reviews i have read online are really rather good. Users say it is an impressive scope.

It may be worth you taking a look at it.

Reflectors - Skywatcher Heritage 130p Flextube