NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Viewing Jupiter.

I saw Jupiter on Wednesday night and it was fantastic as I could also see what I assume were Callisto, Ganymede, Io and Europa. Unfortunately I couldn't see any details of Jupiter at all, it just appeared as a slightly large star. My current set up is an Orion Observer, 60mm refractor with 25mm and 10mm lenses. The conditions weren't perfect, and I'm quite new to this. I'm just wondering if I'll ever be able to make out details ( even a single cloud band, anything ) with this set up without higher magnification. I've been looking at 1.5 x barlow lenses and in another topic on this forum I've been told the best thing to do is to get another lens?

What focal length is your 60mm refractor ?. When I used to use one (which had a focal length of 800mm) I found that a 6mm eyepiece (133x) was the absoloute max that I could use in really good viewing conditions. With Jupiter pretty low down you would probably find 100x a more useable power - to find out what eyepiece you need to get that divide the focal length of your scope by 100 - the result is the focal length in mm of the eyepiece you need eg: 800mm / 100 = 8mm.

The nearest you can get to that in a reasonable eyepiece design is a 7.5mm plossl:

Skywatcher - Skywatcher SP Plossl eyepieces

John

I first looked at Jupiter with a 6" Celestron SCT and a 25mm eyepiece - my first astronomical object with my first telescope. Isn't it a blast?!

At first I saw just a small bright disk, but after waiting for a while and just letting my eye rest on the target, a couple of darker bands just sprang into view. Once I had got them, they remained clearly visible. A bit like suddenly 'seeing' an optical illusion. Other times I have looked at Jupiter it was the same, so my learning on seeing the bands clearly is:

1. Be patient and allow your eyes to dark adapt. I saw the bands much better later in a session.