Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

The Human Eye

Dr Nurburg

After being explained how the efficiency of gathering light in a telescope is equally as important as its magnification, I began to ponder and asked myself this question:

How much more would we be able to see in space if the human eye was:

a) 25% more efficient at gathering light

:headbang: 50% more efficient at gathering light

c) 75% more efficient at gathering light

Just to the naked eye, no magnification involved, just light gathering efficiency.

Since I'm not a scientist I can't really begin to work it out.

Any ideas?

I'm not a scientist either but I guess the light gathering capacity of the eye depends on i) the diameter of the fully dilated pupil (effectively the aperture) and ii) how sensitive the optical nerves are to low light / contrast.

I'm told that my pupil will dilate to around 6mm - 7mm (I'm 49 years old) max so that's my aperture. Assuming that optical nerve sensitivity is constant (which I'm sure it's not) if I could achieve a 14mm pupil dilation (I hate to think how I'd do that :D )

my eye would be 4x more sensitive to light .... I think :headbang:

John

Interesting question. I googled the formula for limiting magnitude and did some free thinking. I have no idea if I'm right or not but here are my thoughts.

1st I need to explain magnitude: Objects brightness in the sky is measured in magnitude. The lowest number the brighter it is. Example: a 0 magnitude star is 100x brighter then a 1 magnitude star.

This is the formula for the limiting magnitude where D is the aperture in mm.

ML= 3.7 + 2.5 * Log10(D^2)

One eye haves an average 6mm diameter. So our current limit magnitude is:

ML= 3.7 + 2.5 * Log10(6^2) = 7.59 (It's a bit over the usual 6.5 estimated mag for humans maybe because this formula is made for telescopes).

Adding 25%

ML = 3.7 + 2.5 * Log10((6*1.25)^2) = 8.02

We would see objects that are 43x fainter then the ones we see now.

Adding 50%