Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie equipment questions.

Hello all.

Further to my previous single post ( I asked about the differences between skywatcher and celestron 5" reflectors) I thought Id ask a few more questions since I want to get the best I can for the little money Ive got. Despite lurking for a while I still havent formed an absolutely concrete opinion on a scope, which is where I thought you guys could help me out.

My situation is currently this:

Im a penniless student with about £200 guaranteed and an undisclosed, barely discussed amount from parents (but as a ballpark, say about £150), who are probably going to fork over as an early christmas/birthday gift. Im not concerned with GOTOs seeing them as a cash sink that could be better spent on optics; and since I dont have a car a dobsonian or other massively clunky device is out. Storage space is also a bit of an interesting challenge. Ideally I'd like a bit of money left over for maintenance equipment if i need it (like collimation gear).

With this in mind, I've got a few questions.

1) Its apparently widely accepted that the budget entry into the field is a five inch reflector, but from what Ive seen of late in astronomy now and sky at night it seems that small maksutovs (celestron nexstars mainly) are starting to become more popular and more pushed by retailers. Is there any real advantage of the maksutov over a newtonian? I plan to observe a bit of everything; nebulae, planets and galaxies for visual interest and trying to find variable stars and other things for the scientific interest. Should I stick with a newtonian or go for a small mak?

2) In a similiar vein, I noticed the skywatcher 130PM has been discontinued recently, and this has caused a bit of an outcry. However what Ive been able to find out indicates that a spherical over a parabolic mirror at 5" of aperture isnt the end of the world that people think it is. OR is it?