NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Astrophotography beginners help

I've recently bought myself a telescope and I'm interested in taken photographs of the night sky. Last night when I took an exposure of 4mins 30 secs the image was HUGELY over exposed and was completely white. I tried an exposure of a minute and recieved a grey image, again with no details. A 10 second exposure should nothing but darkness, no detail.

My ISO for all these photographs were set at 1600 with an aperture of 00 (as I can't pick anything else).

I'm clearly doing something wrong. My set up is as follows:

I have a telescope with the eye pieces removed and replaced with the t adapoter and t ring which is connected to my camera (with no lens on it).

If I look through my telescope with no eye piece I only see my eye being reflected back. If I look through my camera with no lens all I see are MASSIVE circles of confusion.

I'm COMPLETELY new to any kind of telescope so I'm proberly making a very stupid mistake.

I think my problem is that there isn't a lens in my setup...

Please can someone give me some help? ;)

PS. I have a CANON EOS 450D and a Sky-Watcher 130P.

Robzy,

Welcome to the black magic circle!!!!

From what you say you're trying to do "prime focus" imaging ( no eyepiece or other lenses) this is basically using the main mirror as a giant telephoto lens!

The nosepiece and T adaptor to the camera sound OK.

Setting at 200 ISO is probably enough.

How do you focus the camera? What object were you trying to photograph?

Start with something simple like the moon; a setting of 1/30 sec exposure will get you a pretty good image and give you the practise in focussing the camera.....

It seems like you have got everything setup correctly, and you just need to sort out the focus. I say "just", as this is a very tricky, but necessary, part of the procedure.