SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Did i see M31?

Hi last night i tried to find M31 with my 5" skywatcher 130pm, i found something but not sure what it was, could anyone help?

it was around the right area im still learning to find stuff so could have been quite far off i didnt use coordinates etc just a planisphere and a good old fasion search! (i used the square of pegasus then counted down i think it was 2 stars along the top branch towards cassopia coming of the great square sort of direction and there was two stars close together and i looked around the top one (sorry for bad discription)) :)

i found a small grey smudge it was good ive never seen a small grey "astro smudge" before only found a few things like double stars and a double cluster so it was good but when i looked in my book it looked nothing like andromeda, i dont mean the fancy pics this had a pic through a small scope it looked like a star with blurry stretched edges, what i saw wasnt like this it was just a grey smudge.

are there any nebulea near by i could have found by mistake?

Thanks. :D

You found it I'm sure. There is nothing around there that your 130PM could detect that would be similar. There is M33 but thats in the opposite direction and I would say would be extremely dim in your scope.

So congratulations.

Brilliant! thats my first proper Messier object then! Thanks!

:D

Well M110 is really close and looks grayish on my 8". M31 is a bit lower and looks bright yellowish and not that small, it nearly fills at least half of my FOV at 48x. More then half if I stare at it and get my eyes adapted.

Your description seams more like M110. Then again I'm a newbie myself... so I may be wrong. :)

Thanks for all the help i think i will have another look when this cloud shifts and see if what i saw was the same if i follow the steps provided, you never know i maybe able to add another number to my count! thanks guys!

:D