Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice needed on beginers telescope

HIya! I know this question has probably been asked a million times but I am really confused by all the different options and types of telescope available.

I am totally new to astronomy having got my first pair of bins about a month ago now. I have really loved using them and I am now dying to get a telescope.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a telescope priced between £350 - £400? Also what sort of objects I will be able to view with that type of scope. In the long run I would like to be able to do imaging, of the moon and planets with my first scope, and in the distant future I will buy something more powerful to view and get images of deep sky objects.

Any advice is really appreciated! Thanks.:)

How much of the sky do you actually know?

If the answer is really none then against almost everyone consider a goto. You can read a book of what there is to see, make a list what you want to see then tell the scope to go to it. PLEASE learn how to align one however. One way of looking at it is that you determine what you want to see, and then learn where it is from the scope. It takes some of the hunting for the things out of it.

If you want to view planets then a refractor is good and they tend to have better contrast, they do suffer for chromatic aberation especially if the f number is "small" say below f7. Down side is they tend to come as just the scope and not a lot else.

Reflector, more aperture then a refractor but tend to be less contrast. SCT's do tend to come on a mount whereas refractors don't. Mount may be manual, motor or goto.

An SCT on a goto is probably the most complete and will get you viewing immediatly (buy a mains adapter). You should be able to get some images but do not expect them to be great. Again it would all depend on the setting up accuracy.