Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece selection for 80mm refractor

Dear members,

As a beginner I was wondering whether I could prevail upon you for some advice regarding eyepiece selection.

My wife recently bought me a skywatcher equinox 80 ED-APO OTA as a surprise present. Unfortunately, she thought she was buying me an entire setup and we had a good laugh when we realised that the aluminium case it came in didn't also contain a mount+diagonal+eyepiece(s) - and yes she even lifted up the foam in the bottom of the case to check!

Anyway, I have been doing a bit of research on what selection of eyepieces to get and must admit I am a bit lost. The selection (and price range) is enormous. To narrow things down a little, I was thinking 2 eyepieces to begin with and possibly a 2x barlow or even a 2.5x teleview powermate. The one eyepiece I have more or less settled on is a teleview 20mm plossl (which seems a good compromise between price and quality). Is this eyepiece a good option or could you all suggest an alternative? Also, what would you suggest for a higher magnification eyepiece? I guess most of my initial viewing would of the moon and the more obvious stars and as I gain in confidence (and skill hopefully) I would like to look further afield. I don't wear glasses and have pretty good eyesight. I am also thinking of getting a williams optics 2" diagonal and an EQ5 mount.

Many thanks in advance for your help

Alex

I would suggest that with a telescope like that, you don't want to put a cheap ep on it, as that would be like putting cheap speakers on a very expensive stereo. The TV line is a good choice, although you may want to look at some wider field eps of similar high quality. See my article on ep selection for advice on focal lengths.

The William Optics 2" diagonal and EQ5 are great places to start. You may want to look at the Synscan version if you want goto capability.