Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Had my 1st attempt to find M95, m96, m105 in leo

Hey all, tonight being clear I thought I would go out and try to find the m95, m96 and m105 in Leo. I spent last night looking at Saturn and for the 1st time I used my 2x Barlow lens and Saturn looked pretty good at 202x, making out some detail (though looked good to me as I am new to a decent scope..lol)

I did not have much luck finding the above messier objects, as the sky was still a little light, and at the time I went out, they went behind my neighbours tree, and I am not experienced with the the summer sky as I am with winter sky. I printed a chart out to help me from stellarium.

Though by luck I did find Regulus in Leo and seen its double star, which was a first for me seeing Regulus, so not a total night lost, plus I was tired from being up at 6:30 for a boot sale, so tired eyes aint the best for astronomy....lol.

Never mind, will try again (hopefully tomorrow if it is clear) and get out earlier before they go behind the tree and hope it is not too light.

anthony, although the leo triplet is quite "bright for galaxies, it's still pretty faint. I can see them quite easily in a 6" scope at a dark site but I can't see them at all in the same scope from London. Don't know how dark you skies are - if they are dark you should probably see them but only as faint smudges in your scope but if it is not dark you might struggle.

Don't know if you have seen m81 and 82 yet - if not, see if you can find them as they are a fair bit brighter and they are also pretty much directly overhead.

good luck

dan

Looking at your sig, your scope is a Meade DS-114ec you will need an extremely dark site to see the Leo triplet with a scope of 114mm aperture. Even in a 16" from a light polluted site they appear as just smudges.

Get yourself snd scope under dark skies and it's a total different ball game.