Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Piecing together an imaging setup

Hi,

Looking for some advice on getting a DSO imaging setup going. I'm really a visual astronomer - CPC800 is my main telescope - but I've been dabbling for a few years with a Canon 600D (unmodded), Sky adventurer and a few basic lenses, but now trying to have a proper go at dso imaiging.

I have acquired an HEQ-5 Pro mount (with belt mod), so have an EQ mount ready to go, but no scope for it yet. I'm thinking I probably want to go for a skywatcher 72 or 80ED from reading the forums.

Finally, I like tinkering, and making small upgrades bit by bit, and love to re-use second hand kit and feel I'm getting a lot for the money rather than buying everything new - but I'm also aware that a sub-standard setup could just get poor images and put me off for good.

So, my question is: what is the minimum set of equipment I need from here - can I use my unmodded DSLR, or do I need mono camreas / filters to get anything good from a suburban location?; do I have to have a guide scope and guiding camera or can I add this later?; do I need an autofocuser or should I be able to do well enough manually to start with? 

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Mark.

I'd just try with the camera body and lens first. Depending on how good the internal tracking of the mount works will determine when you'd need to start implementing autoguiding.

One of the best pieces of imaging equipment I've used isn't in fact a telescope, it's the Samyang 135mm F2 lens (imaging at this focal length will need autoguiding).

Yes, I was thinking of starting out just with lenses as an alternative.

I've looked at the Samyang 135mm a few times but figured it was the same price as a Skywatcher... until I started realising I needed flatteners, T-rings, extesnion tubes.... so maybe I should go back to that idea!

Thanks