Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SA-GTi Alignment and Slew Questions

Hello!

I have a new Star Adventurer GTI that I am aiming to use for the eclipse, and after watching and reading many tutorials I am unable to replicate certain steps.  I am brand new to this so I am SURE I am missing something obvious and small, and would really appreciate any nudges in the right direction.  I had hoped to have this all worked out by now but I have two young kids and it is a constant battle to find the time!

I am able to get the tripod aligned north, and using a home-made bracket and PS Align Pro’s daytime polar alignment tool, I can get it aligned to Polaris with the dot right in the middle of the crosshairs.

I’m confused on next steps as things don’t work as I would expect:

- When I do a one star alignment to say, Venus, it go to a completely wrong place below the horizon.  The date and time on the app are correct and it shows a location, is there something that needs to be reset to home or something like that after I polar align before I go to something?

- The arrow buttons are unresponsive to manually slew.  I set it so the little number in the middle of the number pad is a 9, but no movement.  The app does work with the mount otherwise as it will goto, but arrows don’t do anything.

Also having a hard time determining which location to attach the counter-weight.  The manual shows the locations, but isn't clear on what the factors are to determine which one to use.  Does anyone know?

Just trying to get it to track the moon at the moment… seems like I should be very close, but I can’t figure out what rookie mistake I am making??

Thank you!

Mike

An EQ mount is a bit overkill for solar tracking as it's more complication than is necessary, but if it's all that you've got it's better than nothing.