NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Total newbie here - need help with setup of telescope (Celestron 127EQ) that's missing some key parts

The telescope has no tripod or equatorial mount parts. I have the adjusting knobs, the counterweight, lenses, and the telescope. Celestron doesn't sell the parts I'm missing, and online, they're too pricey for my budget (almost as much as buying the whole kit new, after shipping costs).  I was hoping to rig something up so that I could mount it to my old Velbon camera tripod, but I have no idea if that's possible. Does anyone have any recommendations, tips, or tricks up their sleeve that could get this telescope up and running? Thanks in advance for any help! https://www.celestron.com/products/powerseeker-127eq-telescope

If the telescope has the two rings that clamp around it, and the bar they attach to.

Then you should be able to attach the bar to the moveable head of the Velbon tripod.

But I don't believe that would be stable and safe enough.

I think realistically you need a new or used Equatorial or Alt/Alt mount and tripod.

Michael

The Powerseeker 127 does not have a good reputation, because of its 'Bird-Jones' optical design, which compromises optical performance in favour of compactness.  If you can't source a cheap used tripod & mount for it, it might be better to cut your losses and buy something else.

Astronomy is not a cheap hobby. 🙁

• Like 2

I was given a powerseeker last weekend - my mate goes "you've got a telescope, here, have another"  Not sure I get the logic but I was too polite to say no...

As mentioned above it isn't a great telescope and the mount also isn't good (it looks like one of the slow motion controls on this needs re-seating / sorting).

But - if it is some use to you then you can have the mount for the cost of postage but keep in mind the above advice as even the postage won't be cheap...

• Like 1