NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

EQ6RPO maximum load

I have been imaging for three years now with my EQ6RPO which is mounted permanently on a steel pier filled with sand and bolted to a large lump of concrete! I am using a SW Esprit 100 with attached camera and guide scopes and it works like a dream. I am hoping to buy something with a longer focal length to have a go at smaller deep sky objects and have considered a Ritchie Chretien or SCT. Does anyone have any experience of the amount of load this mount will take whilst still guiding accurately and does it being pier mounted make a difference. I think the specs say 20kg but I don’t want to overload it and can’t run to an EQ8 at the moment.

Many thanks

EQ6-R (on pier) works very well with an Edge HD8 SCT with OAG and large ZWO camera train. (about 14KG). Guiding is around 0.5 arcseconds on a good night.

(You will probably need a 3rd counterweight)

I piggyback my smaller solar imaging scope on top and that works just as well (solar uses video capture) , that takes it up to around 17.5kg.

I dont try to image with the Edge while the solar gear is piggybacked.

Dome interior mar2024  Edge HD8  400.jpg

Edited by fifeskies
  • Like 1

We're running a RASA 8 quite happily on an NEQ6. This will weigh about the same as other 8 inch catadioptric systems. I've also imaged with a TEC 140 on this mount. I don't think a 6 or 8 inch SCT or RC will overload it.