NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Very over exposed looking subs and particularly poor final image :(

hi there, hoping for some thoughts on the 'final image' ill post below (not a lot more than a quick stretch) and an example of my exposures.

Im thinking the answer is high thin cloud that i can't see with my eyes is reflecting light pollution? if this is the case - if i see a test exposure in future like my example below - just try another night?

30sec subs iso800 canon 600d/t3i (unmodified) and an old  pentax m 50mm f1.7 shot wide open because im a noob.

anyway result is here:

image.thumb.jpeg.0ea33f0365f667217cda14880acdf4c8.jpeg

and an example sub here:

image.thumb.jpeg.d8ef3a39cc815aa88906ed575402c76a.jpeg

thanks in advance for any insights anyone can provide. 

20 minutes ago, iantaylor2uk said:

If it were me, I would up the f ratio to 2.5 or 3, and reduce the sub exposure time to 15 seconds. You could also try playing around with the ISO setting too. 

hey ty for the fast reply. tbh im very new to this (if you can't tell) and im reluctant to  stop it down because it will reduce the signal and the light pollution. iso800 seems the best signal/noise ratio. in my focus tests i did drop iso to 100 and it looked 'normal' as i was expecting. i also dropped exposure time to 5 and 10 sec for checking focus and seemed ok then too.  But if i can only take 5 sec exposures i might as well bin my tracker.

in your experience, is this likely to be caused by light thin high cloud i can't see with my own eyes?

Edited by TiffsAndAstro

I should have said the final result looked good to me, even though the subs looked over-exposed. 

f1.7 is very fast and even f2.5 is fast - I wouldn't worry about stopping it down a bit since you want to let less light through to stop it being over-exposed. 

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, iantaylor2uk said:

I should have said the final result looked good to me, even though the subs looked over-exposed.